Santry Athletics

Thanks to the hard work of teacher, Joanne Walsh, Scoil Maelruain athletic teams surpassed all previous records when winning four of the eight relay trophies in a competition that involved 36 large schools in Santry on June 10th. Two other teams also took bronze.

Senior Girls’ Relay (Gold): Brandi Bokundi, Ciara Lambert, Hazel Mangan and Olwyn Carey.

Senior Boys’ Relay (Gold): Krystian Smiglewski, Ciaran O’ Brien, Darren Walsh and Alan Hudson.

Under 12 Boys’ Relay (Gold): Vincent Ogbe, Evan Mearns, Ian Griffiths and Cian Murphy.

Under 11 Boys’ Relay (Gold): Chris Ross Omisore, Pasvale Chamburuka, Jason McClelland and Jason Smith.

Under 10 Boys’ Relay (Bronze): Jack Bland, Josh Lambert, Charles Etumnu and Michael Murtagh.

Under 10 Girls’ Relay (Bronze): Jade Sweeney, Janet Babalola, Nicole Malcolmson and Agnes Ogbe.

Senior Girls: 500m, Olwyn Carey (Gold) Senior Girls’ 100m, Brandi Bocundi (Silver) Shot Putt, Ciara Lambert (Silver).

Senior Boys: 500m, Alan Hudson (Bronze) Under 12 Boys: 100m Hurdles, Vincent Ogbe (Gold) 100m, Vincent Ogbe (Gold).

Under 11 Boys: 100m Hurdles, Jason Smith (Gold).


Confirmation of sixth class pupils took place in St Martin’s Parish Church on Saturday June 7th at 11 a.m. Bishop Eamonn Walsh performed the ceremony. Our thanks to Fr David Broe, Fr David Fleming and to teachers, Kathy McHugh, Deirdre O Reilly, Joanne Walsh and Maura Roberts for their interest and hard work. Our thanks to the members of the Parents’ Association and to the parents of 5th class children, who organized the reception for families after the ceremony – Michelle Lowry, Anne Fay Plunkett, Susan Murphy, Deborah Dunne, Karen Moody, Mandy McEvoy, Anne Doyle, Cathy Lambert, Pamela Conway, Lorraine Coffey, Theresa Gadd, Martina Royal, Mairead Cullivan, George Carroll and Derek O Brien.